It is more enjoyable to have a job where you work only three days a week for long hours than to have a job where you work five days a week for shorter hours

Since the dawn of the humanity, working was one of the fundamental part of life, as it provide myriad needs in variety of sectors. However, in today's modern age, human laborer alter their place to machine, therefore people have the choice to lessen their work time, and provide more private time for their interested activities. However, the question which arises here, is that whether it is better to dedicate five days a week to work with fewer hours or just working three days with longer time each day. There is an active controversy over whether which one is more delightful and has more advantageous. Due to the less working day per week, most people, absolutely, tend to choose the second option. Nevertheless, I personally adhere to the fact that less working day could not necessarily lead to have better performance and make us a joyful life. The following paragraphs will elaborate more on this issue.

To begin with, maybe it seems to be easier to work for less days per week but if we look more concentrated, we could realize its drawbacks. Employees' capacity to work is definitely limited. To be specific, the average hours which an employee could dedicate to work is 7 to 8 hours per day. Although we are able to work even 10 hours but our perfect performance occur within the first 7 and 8 hours of work; above this amount of time the performance diminishes. As a case in point, I would like to recount a personal story. I had worked for a private company for two years. There, I had the option to work 10 hours per day in order to reduce my work days of each week. After three months, I realize baring all of these laborious tasks are out of my ability. Thus, I changed my schedule, tiring of overwhelming day time-work. Then, I became more efficient in all the performances from typing to sending mails.

In another view-point, this could not be also considered as a sensible decision for companies. If they decrease their employees' day work, they have to compensate the remaining days of week with other work forces. Therefore, they should provide more people with teaching and training, due to have adequate expertise for multifarious tasks that already exist in a big company. As another negative point, I could mention the more salary that the company should pay to the extra employees. For instance let us consider the example of China, an overpopulated and recently developed country. In this country, with tremendous size of labor force, the government decided to impel both work plan for two groups of employees in governmental companies. The result was clearly undesirable. Employees has shown a very bad performance in concentration on their work at the beginning of the weeks, being distant from their responsibilities for too prolonged time. Their performance during the work-day diminished and lots of errors were occurred. Due to all these negatively responses to new plan, the country decided to go back to the fist type of working days.

Drawing upon the aforementioned reasons, although, at first glimpse, it could look like very exciting and desirable to work fewer hours, the demerits of working more in each day in order to lessen the work-day per week sugar-coat its merits. Not only, does it reduce the quality of employees' performance and function during work but also it could damage a company performance as a whole by increasing costs and decreasing the income.