The most important thing the government should do to improve health care is to clean the environment.

A growing number of people have worried about their own health because of various diseases caused by polluted environment. Most of people hold that cleaning the environment to boost citizens’ health care is the most significant thing the government should do. However, from my perspective, I do not agree with the statement.

Admittedly, it is actually substantial for government to enhance health care by protecting the environment. This is because the environment has been fueled due to an increasing number of fume resulted from cars and industries, which lead to a variety of diseases to human bodies. Once the environment like the air becomes cleaner without dust by means of planting trees to absorb carbon dioxide, it will have fresher oxygen for people to breath, which can accelerate body’s blood circulation and promote immune competence as well as diminish the probability of generation of lung diseases. Therefore, cleaning the environment is wholesome to human’s health care.

However, compared with cleaning the environment, advanced medical facilities are more of importance to improve health care for government. To be more specific, medical facilities have the ability to speedily find out, exactly analyze the cause of some diseases and cure them directly. And cleaning the environment is a process of long period in a slow speed as well as unremarkable effect on human’s health care. Take my grandfather for example, he suffered from the lung cancer and went to hospital when I was a child. Luckily, he is detected the part and size of the lung cancer by utilizing medical facilities like X-ray, which can help surgeon to treat it quickly, so he was in hospital for two years and successfully overcame the lung cancer. As for protecting the environment, it has no impact on the cure of lung cancer in a short period.

Moreover, raising public awareness on caring about health care is more crucial for government than cleaning the environment. To be more concrete, protecting the environment is a kind of extrinsic behavior, however, it is the awareness that motivate people to take care of their own health in that it is an intrinsic behavior. If people are aware of the importance of health care, they will do anything to maintain or prompt their health in their subconscious such as going jogging in the morning and sticking to a low-fat diet. By contrast, if people do not have the awareness, they will continue to eat many high-calorie foods like ice-creams or hamburgers and stay up late to harm their health, even if clean the environment.

To sum up, although cleaning the environment is of significance for government to enhance health care, advanced medical facilities and boosting public awareness are also indispensable for government, so I disagree with the statement.