News sources today are less concerned about the accuracy of the NEWS

By and large, news sources are of paramount importance in people's life; people become aware of what is happening in their surroundings by relying on news sources. So great is the effect of the news on people's lives that news sources should be more careful about what they publish, to be able to provide the appropriate type of consciousness for people. In this regard, some controversies always arise whether the news sources today are less concerned about the accuracy of news or not. Many people think that news is today less precise than the past. Personally, I disagree with the statement. In the following lines, I will present and investigate two reasons to substantiate my response.

The first reason is that toady news sources are in vast competition. In other words, today, producing news for people transformed into business; these businesses always concern about their nets and benefits. All these business companies need to be trustable to attract more people and gain more benefits. Also, there are many other companies in this competition which will use any inaccuracy mistakes to weaken their rivals. Thus news sources care about the precision of their news to reduce their mistake as low as they can. In comparison, in the past, there were a few numbers of news sources, and they usually have little overlap with each other in their field or in their geographical location, so there was no incentive for them to compete with each other. To illustrate, consider a big city, such as Tehran. In Tehran, there are lots of news companies; each tries to be the most accurate one to earn people's confidence and heighten its reviews, which can lead to more income from advertisements that it receives.

The second reason of the equal importance is that now there are more regulations and inspections on the news sources. The news sources play a more important role in society than the past, hence any wrong news can agitate people and threaten the government's security. Therefore, to provide true news and prevent any mistake, governments pass some rules for the news companies and restrict them. Also, there are some companies whose function is investigating news accuracy and checking them out constantly. In comparison, in the past there were lower rules to restrict news companies. For instance, in my country, Iran, not until the culture ministry's representative company corroborates the news, could the news sources publish it. So, to prevent any penalties or any delay in publishing their news, news sources pay attention to the accuracy of their sources. If there is not scrutiny over these news sources, they may publish any news for their benefits.

To bring everything to a conclusion, having analyzed the reasons above, one can surmise that the news sources are more accurate today. Because not only are the news companies in a competition but also they are under magnifying glass consistently.