Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students?

In today's competitive world whre we live, sudents experince many various kinds of teaching methods in different junctures of their lives some of which are more advanatgeous for their performance. In this vein, opinions are divided as to whether all members of a group should receive equal scores when it come to team projects. While some people hold the opinion that same grade is a proper system of evaluation, I believe that students had better be assesed by their individual performance, instead of group performance. In the following paragraphs, I will substantiate my viewpoint.

First of all, considering one grade for all members of a team, instructors cause conflict and friction between students. Needless to say, each student has a level of energy and perseverance, which is different with their peers; thus, it is possible that their highest level of efficiency do not keep up with others', thereby unintetionally involve less than other members in the group projects. Accordingly, other members might think that the weaker student either has a negative intention or is a lazy person, whereby they will have humiliative or aggressive behavior toward them since their scores depend on the activities of all individuals. A study has been conducted at Arizona State University revealed there is a significant correlation between students conflicts numbers and the method in which teachers grade their works. A team of researchers, analyzing collected data through a designed questionairre, showed that the more the group team's score depends on each member of it, the more friction students will have with each other.

The second ground to be mentioned is that by giving equal grade to all pupils in a team, teachers might ruin their incetive as in some cases this is not a fair approach to grade high performance and intelligent students. It is crystal clear that, all students do not have the same level of IQ and mental power, thereby being able to show their potentials and push the team forward. In such circumstances, some pupils lose their interest in the projects as they fall behind counterparts or are smarter tham others; however, if teachers evaluate them in a same way, they will lose motivation as they either know they do not deserve the good score, if were weaker than others, or will be disappointed by a low acore since know they are entitled to have better grades, if were the smartest member. Therefore, it will inflict damage on productivity of not only clever students but also weak ones. For example, when I was in high school, for history class, we were assigned to work on a paper in a team consisted of more weak students than strong ones, so I should have worked hard. But eventually, I gave up as I see no progress in paper due to low performances of my teammates. Thus, we even could not obtain a passing grade, although I did my best. This experience ruined my inducement toward history matters.

To wrap up, with the aforementioned reasons taken into account, I am of the opinion that students should not be graded the same in groups because it is not a fair course of action and bring about discord between students.