Nowadays, people are busy with many things. If you were given a short period of time, what would you choose :

1. Learn to play a new sport you never played;

2. Learn to cook food in a different way;

3. Learn to do some hand-made work like clothes.

It is hard for people to really make times for activities which are thought as hobbies, from their tight day-to-day schedule. If I am given a short period of time to actually learn something new as my skills, which is not aim for study or job, I will choose to learn cooking. Because I think cooking and feeding myself with a great meal are definitely beneficial to my physical and mental health.

First of all, many people love to cook because it is a great way to relax. Watching food materials turn into a delicious dish really brings satisfaction to me. I love to bake during my leisure time. Just like doing the chemical experience, with the aid of heat and bacteria, ordinary things like eggs, butter and flour will come out with tasty cakes and cookies. This magical process is really enjoyable. Cooking in different ways also amplifies my understanding of how food ingredients interact and complement each other, just like composing a symphony.

Furthermore, learning how to cook for myself is also good for my health. Instead of consuming more high calorie junk food and take away food, I can learn to prepare myself more healthier dishes, especially when I want to loose some weight and keep on a diet. Additionally, cutting of the expenses on those take away food will also save me some money. For instance, I can prepare myself a nutritious lunch, instead of spending twice of the price to buy food from restaurants.

Another good reason for learning how to cook is, you can expand your social circle and meet new friends that share the same interests. Nowadays, it is fashionable to show someone’s specialties through his/her social media. Life skills like cooking make you a person that have great enthusiasm on daily life, which has no doubt can draw people’s attention, and then like and appreciate your sharing further.

To wrap up, it will be a great opportunity to learn cooking if I was given the chance. Cooking can be not only a useful life skill but also a delightful way of taking rest.