Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Government are doing good in educating people to pay attention to the importance of the food nutrition and healthy eating?

It becomes more and more urgent for many countries to keep the society being aware of the importance of health food. The are various reasons for the necessity for governments to advocate for this. Undoubtedly, nutritious food and healthier diets can be beneficial for people’s life. Moreover, healthier population can compensate the urgency of aging, as well as decreasing the social welfare costs. But are the governments doing good enough on this task? From what I can see, there are more the government can do when it comes to educating and providing efficient solutions in order to make people to lay more attention on taking healthier diets.

As one of the limitations, insufficient advertising on food nutrition, is required to be enhanced. People, especially elder ones, who went through difficult ages when there were no enough food and people got starved at that period, sometimes tend to consume more staple foods, like rice and noodles. This outdated eating habits should be diminished with constant education. But like my grandparents, who take the public service advertising more seriously, if they are broadcasted on the national televisions, finally be convinced to have more vegetables and protein in their diets, after I showed them the ads for several times. So I think that, governments, as the authority, should utilize the public broadcasting more effectively to deliver the ideas on healthier eating.

At the same time, governments should encourage practitioners in the agriculture industry to grow more healthier foods using promoted technologies. The higher prices of the organic foods in the market sometimes keep people away from these healthier choices. Nowadays, in the supermarket, the price of a bag of organic tomatoes is twice than the usual ones. How to lower the price and encourage people to buy healthier foods, depends on proactive actions of governments to formulate policies in favor of farmers or firms, who can engage in producing nutritious foods in lower costs. With cheaper prices, along with the effective education delivered, people can be more willingly to accept the propaganda of eating healthier foods, like organic vegetables and fruits, and lve a more high quality life.

To wrap up aforementioned arguments, I’d like to say, there are still room for improvement for our governments to invest more on encouraging people to develop a diverse and nutritious eating habits.