Often, we are required to participate in group projects at school or work. Sometimes we must work with the people who share our opinions and ideas However, sometimes we must work with the people who have completely different opinions than us. Which option do you prefer? Use reasons and example in your answer.

Working in a group is the best way to solve any problem. Group projects are important to improve various skills in our lives. It helps people to improvise numerous soft skills and team building skill. For a group project, some people believe that they should work with the people who do not share the same ideas; others disagree. In my opinion, when working for a group project people who share same opinion or ideas should work as a team for few reasons; such as, the same opinion helps to solve the problem quickly and accurately. I will elaborate on my reasons in the ensuing paragraphs.

First, when people work as a team, they are not only more involved in the project, but they become committed and respectable to each other (more invested in the project, but they also become devoted to each other). Team members support each other and adopt each other’s working styles. The team relationship may result in trustworthy friendship. That leads to offering a hand on other assignments and sharing ideas or brainstorms to push each other to reach personal and professional goals. For example, when I was working as a physical therapist (PT) in India, I got an assignment to take an assessment of patients at the free camp organized by a non-profit organization. In that camp, I had to work with other newly joined PT, but we were having the same ideas to work as a team to take the assessment of all patients with the same protocol. So, we were able to complete all patients’ assessments on time.

Second, another key advantage of group work in an office environment is that it can increase efficiency and productivity. When a group focuses on a project or task, they tend to get more work done than if an individual took on that task individually. A group approach can also lead to cost savings for business because it can increase productivity without requiring to hire more employees. Group work also helps business to meet their individual and team goals more quickly because more people are committed to each project. That would be possible when all team members agree with each other’s ideas; if not project work would take more time than planned and sometimes project may get postponed or terminated. Each individual has his or her expertise on some aspect of the project needs. Allowing people to work together for a common goal will bring synergy to make the project more interesting and fun. For instance, during my PT school, I got an assignment to work as a team; but my team members were not able to come to any conclusion on which topic we should present our assignment. Thus, we ended up missing our due date of submitting our assignment and we all suffered in our grades.

In conclusion, group work is the essence of learning various skills, but I believe that it only possible when a person has team members who share the same ideas and opinions.