One can learn a lot about a person from the type of friends this person has.

Nowadays, a friend is playing an important role in our daily life. People are more likely to spend their spare time with friends. As far as I am concerned, we are able to know a lot about a person from the type of his or her friends, and two reasons will suffice here to support my point of view.

First, there is a tendency that people prefer to close to a person who share lots of similarities with them. Thus, people and their friends are similar in many ways. Friendship does not just arise from people’s staying together. For one thing, they share similar interest, having alike values, pursue in the same direction. As we know, students are more likely to make friends in the extracurricular activities, for they are able to find one who share the same interest with them. Moreover, adults want to make friends with who have the same values because this kind of friends help them achieve success easily. For another, people who share the same living standards and financial ability are more likely to become friends. However, if people have plenty of differences between themselves and others, they may not become friends, since they will have lots of arguments. It is a common sense that, kind-heated people will not make friends with people who are evil. In this case, people can learn something about a person from his or her friends.

In China, there is a proverb, lies down with “dogs must rise up with fleas.” Since people have spent a long time with their friends, they might be influenced by their friends. Take me for example, one of my best friends who is extremely hard-working in her study. Before I met her, I was very lazy and I did not like study so my grades were really poor. In contrast, after we becoming good friends, she usually took me to the library to help me do my homework or prepare for my exams. After a period of time, I was interested in studying gradually and arduous about my assignments. Thanks to her, I got an A in my final exam last semester. Therefore, I become more similar as her than before. In this way, it is likely to recognize some traits of a person through his friends.

In conclusion, it is available to know a people through the type of friends he or she has. It is a good way for people to get aware of others comprehensively.