One could learn a lot about a person from the type of friends the person has.

Friends always play crucial role in one's life. We can affect our friends easily and we are also influenced by our friends sometimes. People possess different opinions on whether one could learn about a person from the type of friends the person has. As far as I'm concerned, I totally agree with the idea for the following reasons.

To start with, people tend to make friends with those who have the same taste, same personality and same value so we can learn about a person by knowing his friends. To clarify this point, a study from Harvard University shows that optimistic people are prone to make friends with optimistic ones because the communication between people who have the same personality is much easier than those who are different. As a result, we can easily tell who a person is by knowing his friends.

In addition, friends will become more alike so we can easily distinguish a person from the types of the person has. That is to say, the longer those friendships maintain, the similar those people will be. For example, my senior high school friend, Amy, and I were totally different kinds of person. She was outgoing and optimistic while I was quiet and sensitive. After we became the best friend, we start to influence each other in many aspects. I started to laugh more often and she became less noisy and many of our friends all regarded us as twin having the same temper. As a result, we can precisely learn about a person by observing his friends.

Last but not least, people always try to fit in their friends so we can tell a person by seeing his friends. To further elaborate, sometimes we might try to change our taste to become a better fit with our friends even if we have different opinions. Take my brother as an example. He started to smoke at university because his college friends were all smoke and. He started to smoke from them and he ever told me he hated smoking at beginning but now he got used to it already. Consequently, by accquienting friends, we can know one's characters quickly.

For these aforementioned reasons, I strongly believe that one can learn about a person by knowing what types of friends the person has, that's because people prefer to make friends with those have the same thoughts, people will become more alike and people always want to adapt in their friend zone.