At one high school, more of its students than ever before have been caught cheating on
their homework assignments. For example, many students have asked other students to
provide them with answers for assignments. The school is considering making a change to
help decrease the number of students who cheat on homework. Which one of the following
actions do you think will be most effective and why?
- asking parents to monitor their children as they do their homework and confirm that their
children have not cheated.
Or
- increasing the penalty (punishment) for cheating .
- asking teachers to create homework assignments that will make it more difficult for
students to cheat.
Cheating in high school is not the new issue, and I think it has always existed among
students. But, of course, prevailing this phenomena is a matter that needs to be noticed
seriously by authorities such as teachers, or the school managers. Three different ways
are introduced in topic, and I believe each one reflects different and separate approach
toward students. In this case, I choose the third way, which is asking teachers to create
assignments that will make more difficult to cheat. I have two significant reasons why
I have confidence in this approach, and I am going to express it in the next two paragraphs.
First, I believe, one of the most critical characteristic for every teachers, especially
high-school teachers, is to be creative. Being creative and imaginative for every teachers
help them to provide more interesting topics, and improve their teaching quality. Hence,
in this way they are able to pose some homework that are more difficult to cheat, and
also motivate the students in order to solve it by themselves instead of cheating. In
other words, the creative teachers always ask their students to bring them something new,
and provoke their mind so that they wouldn't think about cheating. For instance, when I
used to go to high-school, we had a literature teacher who always asked us a different
type of writing assignment every session. Plus, he used to instigate us in order to do our
homework, because he would score us based on the creativity of writing homework not only
the contain of it. Therefor, every students tried to write their own homework instead of
asking others. So, in this way, he would succeeded to stop cheating among students, and also
made them interested in the subject matter.
Moreover, I assume, teachers need to ask their students to prepare themselves for
class discussion, instead of doing homework all the time. This method asks students to
be ready all the time in the class so that they would be able to discus about variety
of subject matters. Hence, the teacher doesn't give any chances to students to cheat. For
example, I had a history teacher in the high-school, who used to ask us to debate on
different topic, which is of course related to the subject matter, in the class and challenge
each other. In order to be prepare every session we had to study about the topic so that we would
be able to speak in the class. In this way, every students forced to study about the next
topic. Our teacher scored us for the final exam based on our lecture so that he practically
remove every possibility to cheat.
In general, as I have mentioned teachers need to be creative in order to pose different
kinds of projects or problems, therefore students wouldn't have chance to cheat. Plus, teachers
need to consider class discussion for final score, and in this way the cheating among students
would reduce remarkably.