Parents should limit the amount of time that children are allowed to use electronic

devices, like phones, tablets, and computers.

Most parents nowadays are excessively worried about their children. They try to do their best for their children so that the children reach adulthood without having to deal with any troubling habit or mental condition. Some moms and dads think that when their kids spend a large amount of time with electronic devices, this could affect them negatively on the long run. Hence, the idea of limiting the time that their young spend on the computer or smart phone appears plausible. However, I believe that this is not the right way to solve the problem for many reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

First, children might miss out on many benefits if they were kept away from electronic devices. Smart phones and other modern devices are leading the technological revolution now. Mobile applications plays a tremendous role in our daily life whether people use it for learning new skills, keeping in shape with exercise or enjoying intellectually stimulating games. As a result, young people can have a huge positive return from these devices and the role of adults is just to incentivize children to use them in a good way. For example, allowing kids to spend time with interactive learning applications is a great way to expand their knowledge and understanding. To elaborate more, I remember my nephew when he was a kid and his dad bought him a smart phone. He was very interested in this application which allowed him to play any musical instrument he wanted with a magnificent simulation to reality. This gave him a chance to discover his passion for music and how he was gifted by a musical ear. Later, his dad hired at-home guitar tutor for him to improve his performance. This was just one instance to demonstrate how detrimental it could be to let our children avoid these new technology out of meaningless fear.

Moreover, enforcing rules on our children is generally not recommended, especially that no scientific studies have shown yet that electronic devices are harmful in any way. Some activities such as smoking have been scientifically proven disastrous on the health of young people. As for these kinds of activities, limitations and rules are the right direction to go for children because they will understand why these measures were taken when they grow up. In addition, humans are always keen on the forbidden. In other words, children will try to evade the rules that we put which they do not find convincing. For example, when I was a kid, I was really interested in playing video games. I asked my dad to buy me a video game device. Out of misunderstanding that this could hold me back from achieving satisfying grades in school, he refused. Consequently, I ended up going to video game store to feed my obsession with video games. In my opinion, more unrealistic regulations lead to the opposite effect on children with respect to something they apparently like.

In conclusion, the best approach to deal with new technologies in the hands of young people is to encourage them to use it properly for developing their skills and unearthing their potential. One last word, having too many strict rules will never guarantee a certain behavior.