In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.

nowadays, it is becoming increasingly important to identify a career that has the most potential to lead to secure and successful future since our lifespan is short and this means that it is essential to avoid making mistakes in choosing a career. in comparing the past and the present situation, some people assert that it was easier to find a more promising career in the past. however, as far as I am concerned, it is more difficult today to find a promising job than it was before. in the following essay, the rationale behind my opinion is presented.

to begin with, compared to the past, today there is a wider range of careers between which selecting the best option is a demanding job. especially, when we take account the fact that more and more people are attaining higher levels of education. as a result, in choosing a career, people often get stuck between innumerable options and this makes the decision-making process an overwhelming action. my own experience is a compelling evidence to illustrate this. 3 years ago, when I graduated from the university, I had to choose between various job options which made me spend a lot of time pondering the pros and cons of different job opportunities and as a result, I felt overwhelmed to choose one of them. on the one hand, my parents told me to work as a mason since I had learned the basics of it and since it was a well-paying job, on the other hand, I was a public health graduate and it was prestigious. moreover, there were other job options such as truck driver, shopkeeper, and paramedic which made it more and more difficult for me to choose one of them. on the contrary, in the past, people did not have these options and they chose the job of their parents.

second, people's expectations have risen today which means they often find it difficult to choose a job which not prestigious and therefore they face a quandary in selecting the most appropriate job. for example, my father always tells me that when he was younger and wanted to select a career, he did not think about the appropriateness of the jobs and what he wanted to have was simply a career through which he could support his family. in contrast, the levels of expectation are high today and in considering a job, people often look at the different properties of the job because they want to have a job which fits well in their current social situation, not merely due to the matter of survival.

all in all, to sum up, what I outlined above I strongly disagree with the statement. I feel this way because today there are more job options and because people want to have a more prestigious job.