In the past it was easier to identify what type of career or job would lead to a secure, successful future.

Throughout my time at Tsinghua University, I am deeply devoted to doing research in the field of finance. I love finance because it blends abstract theory with real world applications. For every mathematical model I have studied, I have also learned how to apply this model for positive changes in the financial market, corporate governance, developing countries, and domestic policies. Both of my parents are dedicated to developing education as teachers. I also dream of being a professor after my graduation. My graduate school is lucky enough to have lots of renowned professors who cares deeply about research. One of them is my advisor Prof. Xuan Tian, and he has a profound impact on my life. Under his instruction, I gradually have a better sense of what a good paper is and the art of doing research. He also encourages me to go abroad to get exposed to the cutting edge research and rigorous academic training. By an accidental chance, I met Prof. Xavier Giroud, who invited me to visit Columbia University. I am currently a visiting scholar at Columbia Business School. This experience of visiting Columbia Business School broadens my horizons and spurs my interest to reapply for PhD programs in the U.S. I have to admit that China\'s achievement in financial research pales into insignificance when set against its miraculous economic development. Few scholars in this world\'s second largest economy have the competency to publish paper in the top business journals. The stark contrast in the performance in academic publication and economic development is what sparks my interest in reapplying for PhD programs in the U.S. where is regarded as the best place to conduct research. I am extremely excited about the opportunity to pursue my PhD and at the University of California, Berkeley in particular. The Faculty of Haas\'s specific resources, programs and reputation fit perfectly with what I hope to get out of a PhD program and the work of several faculty members resonates deeply with my own personal interests and career goals. I would be humbled and thrilled to work with not only the prestigious faculty but also its diverse student body. I believe that the privilege of attending business school and pursuing a professional career will best allow me to achieve my dream of being a respected professor. After my graduation, I hope I can enter a tenure-track position at a leading research institution. Once I obtain my tenure from the leading university, I will return back to my homeland and make some contribution to the financial education and practices. With this precious experience of attending three different PhD programs in both China and the US, I will have a deep understanding of the strengths and weakness of business programs from diverse perspectives which may help me perfect our finance program and improve the quality of education as a professor. By nurturing the next generation of young scholars focusing on financial research will definitely help China get rid of the underrepresented role in the international academia and attract more attention to the Chinese economy research. This commitment to reducing the gap of financial research and practices between China and the U.S. has also shaped my research. In a working paper, I study whether overseas directors with different skills yield varying firm performance in emerging markets. This study exploits China\'s 2008 implementation of the Recruitment Program of Global Experts which initiated the emigration of highly-skilled overseas directors. We identify three findings. First, skill-level matters: highly-skilled overseas directors yield more significant improvements to firm performance compared to those with a lower skill level. Second, skill set matters: overseas directors with research and development, marketing, financial, or management skills each produce firm performance improvements via different channels. Third, overseas directors with innovation skills generate the largest and most significant improvements to firm performance. The financial industry is in dire need of independent directors who can not only bring in the financial expertise necessary to advance corporate governance and utilize the international resources but can also comprehend their point of view at a profound level. I have met many talents who lacked administrative skill to shield themselves from financing troubles such as go public or issuing debt. Thus, with my prolific connections and experience, I believe I am in a fitting position to take on this job. Thank you for considering my application.