In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

There is no shortage of opinions that in the past people depended too much on their parents. They had less resources to reach out regarding their issue. I have a different opinion. I strongly believe that nowadays people are better able to make their decisions as they are more aware. In the following essay, I intend to put forth two reasons in support of my viewpoint.

To begin with, the first exquisite point to be mentioned is that today the youth is more confident and have clear vision. For example, in the current era young people have access to social networks which connect them to a vast variety of experts just in a matter of seconds. However, in the past people were confined to their limited areas and didn't have any access to mentors around the globe. Thus, they were more dependent on their parents for any decision of their lives. Nowadays, youth is easily benefited by the mentors that help people in making crucial decisions and guide them to the best of their knowledge. If they were not there it is not possible for today's generation to be that confident.

Second to all, to explain broadly, young people have more knowledge as time is changing so quickly. Parents are facing some hard times to catch up to the revolution. For instance, it is best explained by my personal experience that when I graduated from my high school I wanted to be a cyber security specialist but this my own decision as my guidance counselor has helped me so much in clearing all my doubts that I no longer need any others approval. If I was dependent on my parents they can't guide me that way as they are not familiar with this field. Hence, youth are more capable of making decisions about their lives.

To conclude, the issue of whether the young generation is capable of making decisions regarding their lives or not is complex. Some suggested that they must seek elder's guidance because they have experience. I still contend that today's youth are more confident and have good decision making skills. They have a better command of their decisions.