In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, many young people appeal their parents to give them more freedom since they want to charge their own lives. There is a widespread belief that today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. In my opinion, it is proper to say so.

Firstly, modern society are less strict to young people. As the society has developed for decades, people's mind have change a lot.In this case, modern people are more tolerant and open.Parents are willing to see their child to liberate their nature.This argument will serve me better if we consider the example of me and my grandparent Amy.Amy told me, in the past, she should be careful about her behavior all the time, because there are a lot of unwritten rules to limit her social life. Such as young people are not allowed to stay late outside home after 10pm, if they did, old people and society may regard them as naughty child even prodigal sons. At that time, there were a lot of stereotypes of good children, they must be polite ,obedient, and decorous. Otherwise they need to go through people's mocks and contempt. My grandma Amy, has been enthusiastic about forensic science, which was scorned and thought dirty subject. Her parents strongly opposed her to learn this subject, they believed work with dead people was dirty and indecorous.Even her friends, after hearing about her willing, came to persuade her to change her mind. It was a hard time for her to tolerate so much mock and scorn and because she can't bear the pressure from her parents, she changed her major to nurse. In the contrast, today there are less scorn about one's major.Under influence of my grandma, i have been interest about forensic science since i was a child. In my parents mind, my pleasure come in the first place. My friends also support me to do so, they think it is a cool specialty. And also, in modern society, young people can hang out and spent happy time with friends at night. Young people can do a lot thing which were considered indecorous before, such as dancing in the clubs and singing popular music at the agora. So you can see, with tolerant society and parents, people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Besides, younger people are more independent than before. They are more willing to charge their own life than hand it to parents. As you know, modern education are prone to cultivate child's ability to think independently. In school, teacher prefer to let students find a topic and do research by themselves than give homework with solid answers. Take my cousin Jim who is senior student in Hua yang middle school, as an example, he has finished 3 projects by his own work this semester. Jim has a clear plan about his future: studying electrical engineering in the university then try to become a high level electrical engineer. And the whole society are welcome to independent people.According to a survey conducted by professor Green of Peking University, more than 70% HR regard independency as one of the most important factors to evaluate interviewers. 90% of them are willing to give offer to student who had done major projects by himself and have own comprehension about their major. In these cases, younger people today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.

Therefore, In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them, and since younger people are more independent and society are less strict to them, today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.