Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, the society is more concerned about the quality of education than ever, because people are aware that education is about what kinds of future we will have. Thus, many people from different field participated in the heated discussion over whether teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays or not. In my opinion, I agree with that teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.

First, the main reason for my propensity is that teacher have more knowledge than ordinary people in the past, but today since people have a broaden horizon, teachers gain less respect. As the average level of public education is higher than it in the past and the accesses of information are various, modern people are well-educated, and they do not rely on teachers to receive knowledge. This argument will serve me better if we contrast my experience with my grandfather's as an example. Now I am a freshman in high school, and one of my hobby is history. I often borrow history books from e-library or seek information from netizens on forums who are experts in such area. With internet, I am less dependent on teachers to learn history well. I haven't asked my teacher for any help through the term, but I still got an A in my last history test. And since I think my history lessons are easy, I do not think highly of my history teacher as my grandfather thinks of his teacher. In contrast, when my grandfather was a student in high school, there is no internet to help him learning. The ways for him to learn history is searching through books in library and seeking help from his teacher. In case, he thought his teacher was erudite, and an infinitely source of knowledge. Actually, at his time, no one can learn better without a good teacher.

What is more, the modern culture in the society encourage people to challenge the authority makes teachers are less appreciated and valued. Living in an era that appreciate people showing them real thinks, people especially students are more freely to express their different opinion from teachers. Take the case of class communication as an example. Nowadays, in class students are allowed to speak their ideas loudly whenever they want even without raising their hands. And every time students feel confuse about the explanation teacher give, they can interrupt immediately and even have a debate with their teacher. However, this situation cannot happen even imagine in the past. In the past, students were asked to obey rather strict classroom rules, like no moving or talking when listening to a lecture. Apparently, teachers has less control power of students, and as they need face to the challenge from students or even from other people, they are less appreciated and valued.

In conclusion, with the discussion above, I am confident to maintain my idea that teacher were more appreciated and valued by society in the past than they were nowadays.