People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example, new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge). Why do you think people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I think, people attend college or university to achieve a better lifestyle, either via good job or via profitable venture.

First of all, an educational institution is a good place for knowledge acquisition. Fixed curriculum provided by the institution presents a bedrock for learning. In my seventh grade, I get to learn basic physics, Newton's Law, Pascal's theorem, etc. Again, I learnt about a brief history on the liberation war of Bangladesh in my fifth grade. I also learnt several aspects of Biology, Math, and English language over the 10 year period of my school. Attending college gave me an opportunity to enhance my knowledge I acquired in my school. I am able to focus my knowledge gathering through higher education provided in universities.

Secondly, better skill development is possible by attending in college or university. I took computer science as my subject choice in university. During the 4 year period in my university, I learnt from basics of computer fundamentals to programming knowledge to advanced level software design pattern. Now I am a professional software engineer, which was not possible by only learning basics of programming or computer. I get to know about how to code, how to execute a piece of program, how to do functional and modular programming, how to interact between program module, and at last how to develop an usable software out of these. University learning helps me to develop my skill to a better level.

Lastly, evaluation and self assessment is possible through college or university learning. I can learn anything, or practice myself by sitting home. But I cannot know if my learning is up to the standard of temporary educational level. The competitive environment of college or university enables me to judge my knowledge and also how I am developing my skill.

In this competitive world, where everyone is running for better opportunities, higher studies gave me a better fighting chance in real life. By acquiring focused knowledge, then developing it to a competitive level by self appraisal helps me to leading a better lifestyle.