People have different ways of escaping the stress and difficulties of modern life. Some read; some exercise; others work in their gardens. What do you think are the best ways of reducing stress? Use specific details and examples in your answer.

Stress is one of our biggest enemies. It affects our health, our personality, and our relationships

with others. In order to get rid of stress, I first have to identify the cause. I have different antidotes

to stress depending on the cause. The most common types of stress I face are with work, with

friends, and with myself.

Work-related stress is the easiest to combat. I simply stop working for a while. If I find myself

picking up the same piece of paper four times a day and never doing anything with it, I blame

stress. If I find- myself staring at the computer without finishing a report, I blame stress. The best

thing to do is to do something else. Sometimes, I get up from my desk and go down the hall to talk

to my colleagues, but I don't talk about work related subjects. Other times, I will take a short walk

around the block and get some fresh air. Work-related stress can be cured by getting away from

the work.

Stress caused by friends is more difficult to cure. Often the cause is more complicated. My friends

could have a personal problem that causes them and me both anxiety. Or my friends could be

angry at me or vice versa. Here, the cure for stress is talking about the problem and being with my

friends. Unlike work, you can't walk away from your friends.

Stress I cause myself is also not so easy to get rid of. If I feel bothered by an exam or anxious

about the future, there is very little for me to do. I just have to tell myself that I can only do my

best and leave the rest up to fate.

It is important to try to lead a stress-free life. If you can avoid stress by walking away from it (like

at work), talking through it (like with your friends) or facing it head on (like with yourself), your

health, personality and relationships will benefit.