People learn things better from those at their own level- such as fellow students or co-workers- than from those at a higher level, such as teachers or supervisors.

Learning is a continuous process, and we learn from multiple sources. Learning requires specialized knowledge which also depends on who is teaching. Learning from experienced person is easy compare to the person who does not have knowledge of teaching. I believe that people can learn better from supervisor or teachers. I will elaborate my reasons in the ensuing paragraphs.

First, in order to learn specialized knowledge, we need to learn it from the person who is an expert in that particular field. For example, subject like math can only be learned from an experienced teacher. One needs to have in-depth knowledge on the subject. In such case, my friends won't be able to help me due to lack of their expertise. They will be at the same level as me and so they can't help me to teach new things. Similarly, if I want to learn some new skills, I can only seek help of someone who knows and has used those skills. For example, I wanted to learn surf board. None of my friends know about it. Thus, I have to look for a help from person who is good at surfing.

Secondly, it is always better to take advise from the experience person. For example, when I take a new job, I won't be accustomed to the new environment. It may be possible that most employees in my division/group are newly hired. In such scenario, I can't expect my colleagues to help me to settle in new environment, but my supervisor will be able to help as he must have reach to this high post only after getting some experience in company. He will be able to help me with adjusting to a new office environment.

Let’s put in a nutshell, I strongly believe that individuals at a higher level can teach better because they have vast knowledge on many subjects, and they know better techniques for teaching through their experiences.