People learn things better from those at their own level- such as fellow students or co workers- than from those at a higher level, such as teachers or supervisors.

Learning new things is very important as it has never been. Many learn things from those at their own level, while others learn from specialized people, like teachers. Although I am struggling to say which one is better, I think learning things from specialized people is generally better due to people’s responsibility, higher level people’s experience, and people’s preference to learn rather than to compete with those at the same level.

The first point is responsibility. Although it may not be true for all, in my case, I cannot learn things from, let’s say, classmates. I do not know exactly why, but I think it is psychological situation. Thus, I feel more responsibility when I work with experienced people, especially older ones. For instance, I was planning to participate in country-wide physics Olympics, however there was not physics teacher who can make me prepared because of schedule. On the other hand, I tried to learn from student who is on 11th grade, however it did not work out due to reason I mentioned before.

The second point is the experience of the specialized people. Even though some people disagree, and there may be high intellectual fellow students, in any case, I prefer teachers due to the fact that teaching something does not only concern academic skills, but also teaching skills. For example, once I did not understand a subject at Math, and I tried to learn this from my classmate, who greatly understood the subject; but I could not learn anything. Instead I asked the teacher, and he was successful in teaching this subject, because of, I think, teaching skills, as I mentioned before.

As far as competition among fellows is concerned, I have to say that people rush to learn something, not because of they want it, instead they want to be better than others, which is not effective way to learn something.

To sum up, I have to mention that these are my reasons to learn from specialized people, but you may have other reasons to prefer learning from fellows. Every day we have to improve ourselves, it does not matter by which way.