People who develop many different skills are more successful than people who focus on one skill only.

We live in an era where people judge us not only based on the number of unique skills we have gained but also on the degree to which we are good at them. As human beings, as we evolve, our needs evolve simultaneously. We have evolved from a species that only needed hunting and gathering skills to animals that have mastered their environment. Although some argue that knowing about many skills can help us throughout our lives, I think it is better to master one skill.

As human beings, we have mastered our environments. We have developed sophisticated infrastructure so much that we hardly ever face any problems in traveling or daily needs such as water or heating. Hence, we do not have to develop skills that have become redundant because of our well-developed infrastructure. Skills such as horse riding, shelter building, hunting from the wild, etc. are now irrelevant.

Besides that, the elevation of quality of life has resulted in people pursuing skills in which they are more interested. The range of skills that you might occasionally need has extremely widened. Since we cannot develop enough skills in most of them, you can ask others to do it for you. Hence, when you need a particular thing to be done requiring special skills, you can access to people who are better at them.

The more you are better at a particular thing, the more money you can make off of it. Developing an essential skill to the level of expertise so that people pay you for using them is another reason you should master one skill. By making more money from the skill you have grasped, you can hire well-skilled people for the tasks you need.

To conclude, it is not important how many skills one has learned, but how good they are at what they do. Although, there is a high possibility that in our lives, we stumble upon a situation where we wish we had gained skills to do certain tasks. Though we may wish we had those skills during most of our lives, doing a single task at an expert level is more desirable. There is a saying: “Jack of all trades, master of none!” So, we don’t have to be a “Jack of all trades,” but we have to be “master of one.”