Pets should be treated like family members

Pets are important because they provide us with companionship and even with love. Many people have close relationship with their pets. These people treat their birds, dogs and cats as members of their family. Some people believe that it is not good to have too close relationship with a pet, or treat it like a human being. Because devoting too much time to pets can prevent you from focusing on relationship with others. In my opinion, pets give us a lot and they deserve our care and attention but it is never a good idea to go to extremes.

First, loving a pet too much can interfere with good relationships with people. For example, a person who lives alone might dedicate all his attention to his pet. He might lose interest in making friends and being with people. In fact, a relationship with pet is less complicated than a relationship with a person. Sometimes it is easier to choose pets over people.

Second, being supportive is one of the most important aspects of family relationships. As a matter of fact, our dogs, cats and other animals can support us emotionally and sometimes practically but they can't help us in every circumstances that we might have a problem. For example, if I have a financial problem, my parents and my sisters can help me and they will but my cat can't. So with a strong family relationship we can always feel safe.

At last but not least, researchers has shown that having a pet can be one of the longevity factors, reduce the risk of depression. Lots of dogs with training can help elderlies and children as a nurse, or they can help detectives and police services. Pets bring us lots of benefits and they deserve our love, attention and care but we should not substitute our relationships with human beings for our pets.

In conclusion, it is important to balance our pets' needs with our own. Having a pet is really enjoyable and beneficial. However, we should take care not to go to extremes.