Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed play them.

Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

There is no shortage opinion on whether video games are time consuming and children should not play them. I do not agree with the given statement. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explore in the next paragraphs.

To begin with, I think with playing video games, children can learn many new things without even noticing them. For example, they can learn new vocabulary from a different language if the language of the game is different than the kid’s native tongue. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was at about ten years old, I was obsessed with a one game called “The Sims”. I really wanted to play the game, when I first saw the commercial of it, however, there was a major problem. The language of the game was English and back in that time, there was no other language option available in the game, but this situation did not stop me. Since I was so willing to be able to play the game, I started to study English even though it was not required from my school in that time period. I asked from my father to buy me a good thick English-Turkish dictionary and once I downloaded the game, I was trying to figure out the commands of the game by looking through the dictionary pages to understand what the directions mean. I can say that, starting to play the game had improved my English vocabulary enormously and moreover, even I benefited from this situation in my classroom. I was always the most successful one in my English classroom. Therefore, I believe that playing video games can bring new knowledge and skills to children’s life.

Secondly, since nowadays it is quite easy to find applications for anything, school curriculums have also started to include educatory applications to their programs. This is because within this innovative way of learning, kids would find some difficult courses such as Science and Mathematics more entertaining than ever. Furthermore, children would focus better on these mentioned courses and improved their understanding on them. For instance, my 11-years-old niece told me that, their science teacher has recommended them to play a one specific video game, where the main goal is to teach pupils the basics of science course. Additionally, she told me that before being introduced with that app, she was not enthausiastic about the science course since she found the course extremely complicated to follow and understand. However, after starting to play the game, she told me that her science grades improved dramatically. As it is clear from this example that playing video games are not a waste of time.

In conclude, I disagree with the statement. I think playing with video games children can learn new things such as complicated vocabulary from another language and computer games can be useful for educational matters in schools therefore, students’ academic performs would be increased.