Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

I agree with the statement that young people nowadays are better able to make decisions about their own lives on their own rather than relying on their parents.

To begin, young people now are better at critical as well as independent thinking, and tend to value individualism more than collectivism. Now schools are endeavored in cultivating students the ability to think independently and criticize the authority. On the contrary, back to the mid 20th century when the World War Second went on, the government as well as those educational institutions tried hard to cultivate patriotism among the youngsters and told them to not question the authority including their parents. The natual result is that this generation are mostly depended on their parents to make decisions for them.

In addition, with the rise of emerging media, young people now have more access to information and are better able to make more concise decisions. After the popularity of world wide web in the beginning of the 21st century, there are increasingly different types of social media like Twitter, question and answer websites like Quora, as well as popular science websites like Quartz popping up. By searching information or asking related questions on those websites, they can draw a more comprehensive picture of a certain thing related to their career plan. According to the Aimei, a think tank in China, there are more than 1000 questions asking for guidance of which major to pick in the university and more than 2000 replies in Zhihu, the China's version of Quora.

However, I have to admit that there is also a backside of the rise of social media. Many social media use algorithm to provide customerized content for users, but audience may thus be trapped in an echo chamber where they cannot hear different voices but can only hear very similar voices to them. Young people, therefore, may become more and more extreme and conservative, and thus cannot make insightful decisions, and have to rely on their parents to make decisions for them.

In a nutshell, with more acquired information and critical thinking, young people now can be better able to make wise decisions by themselves.