Question :Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them; today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The youth is one of the most important parts of a body of society, and no one can deny their significance in the present time and the future of a country. There is a controversial topic among people that, in the past, young people were more independent than today's young people in decision making, while others believe that, nowadays, young people are so independent in decision making in crucial situations. I agree with the second idea rather than the first one for two substantial reasons that will be presented here.

First, as we all know, in the past, the communities were so small and people for survival were in need of each other, and this was a vital factor in young people's dependence on their parents. The youth always followed in the footprint of their parents and used their experiences for a living. In my opinion, young people had an extreme dependence on their parents' decisions. On the other hand, the youth usually continued their parents' careers which brought about them had more notice of their parents' views in most of the issues.

Second, the dawn of technology brings about young people becoming wiser than any generation in the past, and it creates an opportunity for them that can become independent in the most significant decisions in their lives. For example, in the past, we did not have tools, such as the Internet and state-of-the-art libraries, both of which are the most necessary sources of information. Young people only had their parents and relatives that their beliefs were the combinations of true and false information. However, today's young people by pressing some keys on the keyboard can access the pool of information. By means of new sources of information, we are able to find any information that we need.

In conclusion, all of the aforementioned reasons lead us to the point that today's young people are so independent than the youth that lived in the past because of two reasons. The first one is that the condition of life was more different than now and the youth should have used others' experiences. In addition, today's technology opens us a window that we can use its potential for helping our abilities such as the power of decision making.