Question :Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is critically important for children to use their time properly and efficiently. Personally, I believe that kids should not spend their time playing computer games since it’s a completely time-wasting activity. I feel this way for 2 reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, playing computer games has no advantage and it doesn’t really contain something useful for kids so these activities can harm their education. Children need to do things that help them to learn something or experience a valuable feeling. In my opinion, doing profitless tasks will lead to difficulties in kids’ studies and school works. My own experience is a compelling illustration of this. When I was 13 years old, I was so much addicted to computer games and I used to play them even before doing my homework. The situation got worse when I had final exams but I was still playing those games. The conclusion was my awful grades on that year. This example demonstrates how computer games can affect our life in a bad manner.

Secondly, this kind of playing in long term will damage kids’ health too since all these games are done by monitors which make eyes vulnerable. Thanks to the rapid growth of technology, nowadays we’re doing almost everything with our laptops, tablets and cell-phones such as: educating via online courses, contacting with our friends by social media, etc. This means that using these devices for important works is inevitable therefore, it’s not rational to use them for dispensable tasks like computer games cause in that case there maybe irrecoverable damages. For instance, my cousin used to play computer games for long hours everyday when he was young and this was the reason why he started to use glasses. His parents and his doctor warned him that his eyes’ weakness will get worse if he does not lessen the time he was spending on those games but unfortunately he didn’t take those advices serious and the result was that now he is wearing very heavy glasses and last year when he asked his doctor about laser surgery to get rid of the glasses, the doctor told him that the level of the weakness of his eyes is too much, consequently he can’t do that operation and he has to continue to his life with those boring glasses.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that wasting time on playing computer games is completely worthless and children should avoid that. This is because these entertainments cause troubles in kids’ educating duties, and because such hobbies can lead to irretrievable suffering in their health and especially their eyes.