Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Television advertising directed toward young children

(aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Television advertisements have a very deep impact on people and especially on children, who do not understand the wider meaning of many advertisements since they are young and naïve. Children lack the understanding and knowledge required to distinguish between good and bad. As an adult we have developed and learned the difference between what is right and what isn’t. However, the same understanding has to be given to the young generation so that they are able to differentiate between good and bad. Therefore, it is necessary to understand the extent of television advertisements that are broadcasted especially when it comes to the younger population.

Inculcating values that help the young generation shape their future is important. Any advertisement promoting deleterious products or disturbing actions could have a very negative impact towards the young population. Advertisements like promoting drugs use, violence and other illicit activities should not be encouraged. Instead advertising about the importance of social values, promoting ethical work or scientific programs would help them shape their future accordingly.

As a child everybody had a liking to sit in front of the television watching favorite shows and programs, even as an adult we still enjoy the company of television series. Children have an inclination to be influenced more by television shows than anybody else. Advertising and broadcasting programs that create adverse effects on the minds of young generation should be immediately discarded. Educating values that guide them in becoming a better citizen should be promoted.

In conclusion, television advertisements directed towards young children should not be allowed. It is pivotal to understand the extent of such advertisements since they might a have a very negative impact on the younger population.