Question: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Societies are constantly evolving. Values and perspectives change through time. In order to make sure the harmony and well-being of people, societies set rules that ought to be followed by everyone. Some people say that today rules are too strict, especially towards young people, while others disagree and feel that rules are necessary. Personally, I am in favour with the later opinion. Rules help to protect young people and discourage them from engaging in unethical and dishonest behaviour.

To begin with, rigorous rules ensure the overall safety of mankind. Society makes rules in order to protect the well-being of young people and discourage of following dangerous behaviour. For instance, in my country the legal age of drinking and driving is 18 years old. In order to prevent youngsters to commit in harmful behaviour before they are fully able to make decisions, our society forbids them to get easy access to addictive susbtances such as alcohol and dangerous activities like driving. If there were no restrinctions on the consumption of alcoholic beverages, young people who have not yet fully developed a sense of responsibility would get into risky activities that are harmful both for themselves and people around them. Strict rules prevent teenagers and young adults to engage in dangerous behaviour.

Secondly, rules help youngsters to learn about values and morals. Restrictions ensure that people understand and take into consideration the consequences of their actions. For example, societal rules about cheating prevents people from engaging in dishonest behaviour. At school you learn that copying from your classmate or cheating in an exam has severe consequences such as getting detention or a reprimand. If society does not discourage these behaviours, then young people would grow up thinking that they do not have to think about the impact of their actions. If behaviour that goes against society´s values is not punished, then the world be chaotic. Rules make people understand since young age that some behaviour is acceptable. Without rules, harmony among large groups of human beings would not be possible. Being strict with youngsters help them to become more obedient once they grow up and have to act as responsible members of society.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that rules upon young people should be strict to ensure their protection. Furthermore, it helps them to get prepared for the real world, where they are expected to behave in a certain way and become noble citizens.