QUESTION

Some people think that human needs for farmland, housing, and industry are more important than saving land for endangered animals. Do you agree or disagree with this point of view? Why or why not? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Like every coin has two sides - the above statement also have two sides which are equally important and one cannot be neglected for the other. Farmland, housing, and industry is important for the humans and their livelihood, one cannot live without food, shelter and clothing and therfore, farming, building a shelter and industrialization for the economy cannot be neglected for saving the animals.

On the other side, we the humans are at least partly responsible for the endangering of the animals and therfore it also becomes our responsibility only to save the animals before they get extinct since the humans and animals are both part of the food cycle and ecosystem and we have to maintain optimum balance.

The humans should not interfere with deep forest leading to deforestation and disturbing the habitat of the animals. One of the main reasons are "Shifting agriculture" which means once the land has been used to its full use to produce the crops and now had become barren is useless for both humans and animals. Ever since the industrialization, the waste byproducts are sent to the water bodies that leads to create eutrophication and eventually affects the aquatic animals.

University of California research showed that the chemical used in the tires called 6PPD, when comes in contact with the air or gets oxidized produces another compound 6PPD-quinone and when the abraded tire releases the latter compound, it goes into the water bodies and which is killing the Coho Salmon fishes. The same fishes which human also eats or the pregnant women. Therefore, we are not just risking the animals or people but the future generation too. This is one of the examples how industrialization has not only affected the animals but also the humans.

Therefore, we should not maintain the balance in the ecosystem since both humans and animals are interdependent and we cannot lose one for another.