Some people think that human needs for farmland, housing, and industry are more important than saving land for endangered animals. Do you agree or disagree with this point of view? Why or why not? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Although the world seems to be an ever increasing place in which we need to claim more land for farming, housing, and industry, the truth is that those demands can be met while also preserving wild lands. The current farmland across the globe is sufficient; what needs improvement is distribution and waste issues. Another factor that would improve global space issues would be the creation of denser living spaces. Alongside those fixes, the creation of smarter means of travel would improve issues of space. Humans don’t need more land; we simply need to use our land smarter.

The vast amount of farmland across the world currently supports a large population of eaters. Despite this vast amount of food many people are still starving. One way to improve this problem is to improve the means by which food is distributed throughout the world. Those places that can provide should provide. More importantly, however, are problems of waste. Much food is thrown into landfills every day. If people treated food more like a prized possession then less would be wasted and more would be available for distribution. Similarly, we waste a great amount of food feeding livestock that is an unnecessary part of our diet. If we shipped and ate the many grains it takes to produce meat, fewer people would be starving.

Another fix to the problems of space is increasing human density in living spaces. In large metropolises across the globe people live comfortable lives existing in high densities. The suburban sprawl of some American cities and the accompanying green lawns and expansive golf courses are an unnecessary use of space. People should not be living in harsh environments that encourage low density and high use of energy to fuel and water those distant parts of the planet. If people simply lived in closer quarters, sharing space and resources, then the human race would require fewer square miles on which to live.

A further solution to distributing resources and decreasing land use is the implementation of better travel methods. The United States is covered coast to coast with roads and highways. If people instead utilized high-speed trains and more local forms of public transportation then the land taken up by roads would be unnecessary. This would also require that people manufacture and buy more products created within their area rather than buying and shipping things across the globe.

Thus the problems of land space on the globe are truly a problem of poor use rather than a legitimate lack of space. More space could be dedicated to wild animals if people improved their food use and distribution. Similarly we could be living in higher density and traveling smarter in order to reduce our global footprint. Then more open areas on the planet would simply appear out of intelligent use of our space.