Question

Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible.

Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these

situations do you think is better?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own

words. Do not use memorized examples.

There is no shortage of opinion on when young adults should seek independence from their parents. The concept of independence differs among young adults; some want it as early as possible whereas some don't rush for it. As a young adult, if I were asked to choose, I would opt for independence from parents as soon as possible. I will justify my choice in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, in my opinion, living on your own is the best way to perceive the real world in its true state without any protection and aid from outsiders. This independence exposes the young adult to the underlying truth of the world and provides experiences to tackle obstacles independently. I must admit my opinion is based on my personal experience. After leaving my parents' house at the age of 16, I started working many part-time jobs to earn my living. It was a tough phase for me but along with this hardship came an opportunity to learn communication and interaction skills. So, I believe I wouldn't have gained confidence in interacting with people if I had lived a pampered life with my parents for a long time.

Furthermore, living independently increases affection among parents and children. Drawing from my own experience, even though I used to live with my parents, we rarely used to have dinner together. But now, we preplan our dinner, and twice a week we meet for dinner either at home or a local restaurant. This gathering is very fruitful for us as we talk about our daily business for an entire week. I have never done communicated at this level when I used to stay with my parents. Thus, I think being independent brings out the underlying affection of a child towards his parents and even contributes to profoundly increasing it.

So, in light of the aforementioned reasons, I firmly believe the young adult should seek independence as soon as possible and parents should also motivate their children to live an independent and fulfilling life.