Reading is more educational than watching movies or TV.

Is reading more educational than watching movies? Although many people would agree with the former statement, I would subscribe my opinion to the opposite of it. I would bolster to watch movies over reading books for the reasons briefly elucidated in below paragraphs.

First imperative reason for watching movies instead of reading books is that it makes the process of understanding involving subjects more comprehensible. For example, I wasn't amused much when I read the diameter of Sun in book. However, I was completely flabbergasted by colossal size of Sun when I watched the documentary -Cosmos. Our Earth seems to be the a small particle when Sun and Earth are viewed in the same screen. Also after watching that movie, I had a far better understanding of our universe which otherwise would have been difficult for me to comprehend.

Secondly, reading requires us to imagine the things which is sometime quite an arduous task. Whereas when we watch the movie, involving task of imagination is competely taken care by the movie. My fascination towards robotics is the perfect illustartion. I had learned about how robots functions by reading few books. However, I never robotics to be intersting as it books described the robots as a simple amalgamation of algorithms, mechanism and mathematical formulas. This view of mine was competely changed when I watched fully functional robot in the movie - Iron man. I was in better position to appreciate the working of mechanism of robots as it depicted how the theoritical knowledge of phsyics can be implemented into pragmatic manner. Therefore, I posit that watching movie is more education instead of reading.

Lastly, several scientific studies asserts that our mind can retain viual information for loner period of time as compared to the information that we have recieved through reading. That holds true for my case. During my schools I used to very difficult to remember the theories of atomic models proposed by various scientist. However, when my science teacher displayed animation videos of atomic models, I was able to understand atoms more clearly. Thus, I would prefer to watch movies over reading book.

To sum up, based on above stated illustrations, I find that watching movie is far more effective in understanding the things instead of reading books.