Your city or province has received a large donation of money to improve the education of children. It must choose between spending the money on improvement of early childhood education (for children ages 4 to 7) and spending the money on the improvement of education for older children (ages 11 to 14). Which do you think is the better option? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

Should we spend money on improving the education of younger children (4 to 7 years) or for older children (11 to 14 years)? It would be blatant to invest money in improving the education of children belonging to both of the above age groups. However, if I am compelled to choose only one option, I would prefer to utlise the donation in enhacing the education of older children.

Children in the age group of 11 to 14 years are mature enough to grasp the information and apply practically as compared to younger childrens belonging to the age group of 4to 7 years old. I remember teaching my 11 year old neice about magnetic properties of the bar magnet. She was enthuistically watching the experiment of magnetic attraction that I had demonstrated to her. After the experiment, she picked up the magnet and was able to classify the objects around her into metal and non metal. Thus, I feel it would be wise to utlise the donations in enhacing the education for older children.

Children in the age group of 4 to 7 years old often find to express their idea or an opinion to be ardous. Even after spending donation on their education, it would be difficult to fathom whether they are actually getting benefited by newly implemented educational facilities whereas the older children on the other hand would be in better position to express their opinion. Hence, older children should be preferred for improving their education.

Furthermore, it is a right time for children belonging to 11 to 14 years to start focusing on improving their communication skills. These additional funds could be utilised for upgrading the existing facilities such as projectors, computer and printers. They should be given a task of preparing a small presentaion which would not only boost their spirit of working in team but also help them to improving their communication skills.

Considering the above mentioned reasons, I feel funds shall be utilised for older children rather than younger children.