Recently the school principals find out that the students are cheating in their homework

assignments. To prevent this, which of the following actions do you think is more effective?

• Intensifying the penalty and punishments

• Controlling the students by their parents

• Giving more challenging assignments to students

Without a shadow of a doubt, assignments are a pivotal part of education and learning process for students. Hence, there has always been a controversial question regarding how to prevent students effectively from cheating. In this vein, while some people are of the opinion that some strict penalty and punishments can be useful, others believe that the assignments must be more arduous and challenging for students in order to hinder them from cheating. However, there is a third group of people who holds the view that parents should be in charge of controlling the kids and prevent them from cheating. I, personally, concur with this group for two main reasons, on which I will elaborate in the following paragraphs.

First of all, the first reason worth mentioning is that students spend virtually all of their time after school at home with their parents; therefore, parents can monitor the process of children’s homework more effectively. To be more specific, when students leave school and head to home after a school day, teachers cannot control them anymore. In this situation, the role of parents becomes more accentuate since they spent more time with them. Parents are able to check if their kids are doing their assignments diligently and without cheating. My own experience is a compelling example of this. When I was in fifth grade, I had this unfavorable habit to cheat in my homework. My mother noticed this problem, and was not satisfied with it. Therefore, she started to control me doing my homework by sitting next to me every day for a month. After that period, I came to this knowledge that I was totally capable to do my assignments without cheating. As a result, I stopped cheating, and after that, I did all my homework by myself. Had my mother not controlled me doing my homework, I would not have stopped that undesirable habit.

Furthermore, the other reason that deserves to be mentioned is that parents are the ones who know their kids thoroughly; thus, they are aware of what is more beneficial for kids to prevent them from cheating. It goes without saying that school principals and teachers have a shallow knowledge of the students, and they cannot apply a same procedure to all students. Giving difficult and challenging assignments to all the students can be detrimental to their learning process since not all of them are astute enough to come over these kinds of homework. Moreover, punishing the students may result in destroying their passion and penchant for school and learning, which eventually can make severe damages to their future lives. On the other hand, parents know exactly how to behave with their kids if they cheat on assignments because of their profound knowledge. Parents are aware of the consequences of strict punishments for their children, as they know how capable and intelligent their kids are. As a result, they can take the most effective action in order to stop kids cheating. For example, they can use some encouragement such as small gifts to stop kids from cheating, and this can be a much more beneficial procedure.

In conclusion, having the aforementioned reasons and examples into account, I firmly believe that parents controlling their kids is the most efficient method to stop them from cheating in their assignments. Not only do parents spend lots of time with them at home and can control them readily, but they also know their children’s personality and can choose the best behavior in order to prevent them from cheating.