Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take at least one class that teaches the culture of

a country other than their own.

Learning about a new culture rather than one’s own culture has always been intriguing to some people. However, there is a controversial question regarding whether all the university students must be obliged to take a course about another country’s culture or not. While some people agree with this idea, some others believe that it is not necessary for all pupils to take such classes. I, personally, concur with the second group for two main reasons, on which I will elaborate in the following paragraphs.

First of all, all university students own a hectic and busy daily schedules, and taking a course regarding another culture is a waste of time. It is crystal clear that pupils’ lives are full of deadlines, challenging assignments, and arduous exams. Having an ample of academic duties, university students have no spare time to spend it on courses irrelevant to their technical courses. Studying a course out of the definite curriculum is time consuming and demanding, especially a course that is about the culture of a country other than their own. Students, more or less, are acquainted with their culture, and studying lessons about it may not put a heavy burden on them. However, not being familiar with another culture, students can have difficulties in managing their time and create a balance between their lessons and the course about another country’s culture. Therefore, it can be utterly time consuming for them.

The other reason worth to be mentioned is that learning about another country’s culture is redundant for those students whose majors are not related to this subject, and it may lead to imperfect academic performance. Considering this course as a mandatory one, university students do not study it with putting their hearts on, and results in the loss of fond. Therefore, this compulsory course can adversely affect the academic performance. If pupils do not have passion for it and not study meticulously, they will be more likely to achieve undesirable grade, which in the end, will negatively influence their GPA. My own experience is a compelling example of this. As a university student in an engineering major, we had an obligatory course regarding the culture of Turkey. I had no interest in this course, and it being mandatory, I was reluctant to spend any of my time on studying it. As a result, in the end of the semester, I did not attain a perfect grade of this course, and my total GPA was decreased significantly. Had I not been required to take that course, I would not have got such a shameful grade.

In conclusion, I believe that taking a course about the culture of another country is not a perfect idea for all university students and they should not be required to take it. Not only is it time consuming, but it also adversely affects the education performance of the students.