Recently the school principals find out that the students are cheating in their homework assignments. To prevent this, which of the following actions do you think is more effective?

 Intensifying the penalty and punishments

 Controlling the students by their parents

 Giving more challenging assignments to students

There is no doubt that education has a huge impact in bringing prosperous students up. To this aim, a successful education system is a system which can teach various sciences to students using giving appropriate homework. However, some students are cheating in solving the assignments. Therefore, the schools should tackle the issue efficiently. Regarding, some people believe that intensifying the punishments and/or controlling the students by their parents are the effective methods while others believe that assigning challenging homework can solve the problem in a better way. Personally, I agree with the second idea. To support my opinion, there are numerous factors, two of which are going to be aptly discussed in the following paragraphs.

First and foremost, methods which do not make positive emotion in the students such as punishment and managing by parents are not as effective as other creative strategies. Additionally, parents do not have enough time to control their children all the times. They must go to their work, and they have a hectic schedule which do not let them to check children’s activities regularly. Moreover, regularly checking them by their parents not only does make bad vibes in them, but also increases their level of stress. The stress will affect the students’ performance which is not in line with the schools’ aim. The school aim is to teach concepts to students effectively in such a way that they learn the concepts completely. So, if students feel severe anxiety, they will not have excellent performance in learning. Also, increasing penalty has a similar disadvantage; hence, it also will not be the best solution.

Another method is assigning more complex homework to students which not only can help them to study more accurate in order to obtain adequate knowledge, but also does not make the feel of being under control in them. Indeed, if the assignment be difficult, there is no room to cheat because they can not find solutions by searching on the online websites or asking from other students. Actually, they do not have enough time for cheating. They must endeavor to find creative answers for the assigned problems. As a result, they will gain more wisdom in their fields. For example, during Covid-19 pandemic, the number of students who cheat in their homework and exams increased significantly. To solve this issue, my math professor decided to give more sophisticated even open-problems (problems which are not solved yet) to students. Although, the students struggled to find a way for cheating, they could not. Finally, they allocated all of their times to study hard and solve the homework without getting help from others because cheating was impossible (Nobody knows the answers). In other words, assigning challenging homework is the best approach to hinder the way of cheating.

To recapitulate, although some people find the methods such as punishment and managing by parents suitable for stopping the students’ cheating, I think the approach are not as effective as giving challenging homework. It is due to the fact that the first two strategies make negative senses in students. Also, they can find a way to cheating anyway. Conversely, by giving sophisticated assignment, there is no choice without study and answering the questions without any cheating.