For schools, assessing teachers’ teaching efficiency is a very important issue. But is it better for other teachers to assess or let students assess teachers?

Teachers are undoubtedly the sole representatives of a nations' education system. Given the importance of their role in shaping up the society, assessing the performance of teachers becomes quintessential. One of the important aspects of assessing the performance of teachers is that people do not concur if it is whether the students or the colleagues who must be involved in performance assessment process. Turning a blind eye to those who support or repudiate the contention, I lean towards the idea that the students must drive this performance assessment.

Among a plenitude of reasons, reliability is an important factor. Performance assessment by colleagues is done by employing a variety of tools and techniques including - but not limited to - publications, how busy the classes are and the teacher's theoretical knowledge - probably assumed by face to face interviews, debates and written tests. While these factors stand out for a good teacher, this approach is unreliable and time-consuming. The outcomes may as well be driven by favoritism between colleagues, which may ultimately make the assessments unacceptable. A good teacher must only be assessed by his ability to articulate his ideas and his involvement in his duties. This can be reliably captured by asking the student's opinion.

Students being the only receivers in the educational system, naturally qualify to assess their teachers. Teachers, despite their knowledge, cannot always think from a students standpoint of what is actually required to make the classes interactive. Students, who submit the assignments can assess the difficulty and usefulness of them, which cannot be done by other teachers. Therefore, performance assessment by students strive to improve the system of education as whole, instead of merely judging the teachers capabilities based on various parameters.

With these reasons in mind, among a plenty of other arguments, I reiterate that students must be involved in assessment of a teacher's performance. The performance review process must be responsibly designed to make sure that they are judged only by their capabilities within their role as a teacher and not influenced by any other factors.