Should a city try to preserve its old, historic buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion

At the turn of the new century, with the development of human’s modern society and galloping rate of science and technology, more and more people tend to expand their cities. There are unlimited ways to develop cities; one of which is destroying old buildings and replacing them with modern buildings. Although some people believe modern buildings can have profound effects on the blooming and thriving the society, I am in the conviction that we should preserve historical buildings due to they are symbol of our culture and can attract more tourists.

The first aspect to point out is that what provokes people to maintain historical buildings is preserving their culture. It goes without saying that historical emblem help us to understand not only where we came from, but also how our ancestors lived. There is no doubt that, people’ custom which live in different parts of a country varies from city to city. To clarify more, consider the difference of people’s cultures which live in Tehran and Isfahan. Since People in Tehran are busy with their jobs and reluctant to socialize with their family, they almost live in small apartment; however, Esfahan’s people have strong emotional bonds with their families and have big houses. Moreover, they can be used as educational assistance to help history teachers. Students can go to these old buildings and learn about their history instead of just attending class and listening to the historical stories.

A further more subtle point is that historical monuments can attract a large number of tourists from different parts of the world. It is noteworthy that tourists come to our city not only for natural beauties, but also for visiting historical places to broaden their horizons about other cities’ culture. To illustrate more, take the case of Eiffle tower in Paris which annually attracts many tourists from inside and outside of France for instance. Tourists bring more money to Paris, so it revolutionizes people’s lives over there. This money could be used to preserve and renovate such buildings. Additionally, a city becomes well known among other parts and this increases chances of getting more funds and investments. Hence, old buildings can improve tourism industry.

In a nutshell, it is obvious that the modern society has gone through some changes by the enormous impacts of tending to modernism. Although constructing new buildings can help prosper a nation, destroy old buildings is not a good solution. In fact, how people who live in a modern society can get familiar with their culture in the past? How young people can recognize of their personality? How a city can attract new tourists? Undoubtedly, answers all of these question are conserving old building.