Some adults believe that nowadays children’s behavior is worse than children’s behavior was in the past. These adults have suggested three actions that parents can do to help children ages 5-10 behave better ( for example by speaking more respectfully to adults or acting more kindly toward others). Which one action that parents can do might have the most positive effect on their children’s behavior? Why?

– limiting the types of television programs and movies their children can watch.

– spending more time talking with their children.

– supervising or monitoring more closely what their children do when they play with their friends.

Needless to say, today misbehaving of young children is one of the problems that parents encounter. However, parents attempt to utilize several techniques in order to resolve the misbehavior in the children. This brings up a highly controversial topic whether it is an effective way to influence on the children's attitude by limiting the type of television movies their children are able to watch. I believe that this action is beneficial. The reasons behind this standpoint can be the eliminating of adverse effects of television programs and the punishing children, explained in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, some types of television programs have a negative influence on children. In other words, some television programs are produced for adults such as action movies having a lot of aggressive behaviors. However, if the parents control the type of movies that children watched on the television, they can eliminate the aggressive mood of their children. My own experience provides an illuminating insight into this fact. When my young brother was a child, he always watched films in which actors have a lot of negative behavior such as a violence toward other actors. Whenever he watched these inappropriate movies, he became a furious person. He talked badly with people and often got angry. One day, my father decided to regulate the types of television programs he saw. After a while, it turned out that my brother was becoming a polite child. Not only did he become a well-mannered person but he did not repeat his ferocious manners after that time. I had not known the effects of television movies before I observed the positive result of my father's action. Therefore, restricting the kind of programs they watch frequently will have a positive result.

The second point worth discussing is related to the punishment of young children. In fact, parents can solve misbehavior of their children by punishment. Limiting the types of television programs young children watch can be a sort of punishment for children. If the adults consider punishing the children by performing the aforementioned task, it is likely that children would not continue bad manners. One example suffices to illustrate this point. As I previously mentioned, my brother used to behave rudely with people when he watched the television improper programs. One day when he started to display an aggressive attitude toward the strangers, my father made a decision to restrain the types of films he watched as a punishment. My father stated to my brothers that if he continues this action, he will not be allowed my brother to watch television. My father's deed was partially successful in improving his behavior. Hence, imposing a restriction on the type of movie children watch can be a kind of punishment causing improvement in the behavior of children for the short period of time.

In conclusion, according to above-mentioned factors, I contend that children's manner and behavior can be controlled by restriction of the type of programs they can watch due to the removing the negative consequences of films as well as being a tool to punish children.