Some charitable organizations allow people who give money to charity to choose how their donation will be used If you were give money to charity would you prefer to choose how your donation is going to be used or do you think it is more effective to leave

It is critically important that donation is used efficiently. I personally believe that organizations should decide how they use their money. I feel this way for several reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, organizations can deal with troubles which are happened after collecting donations, which means that organizations use the money to support emergency activities. My sister’s experience is a compelling illustration of this. Five years ago, my sister worked at an NPO. The goal of this organization was to protect a kind of animal from natural disasters all around the world. It collected huge donations from many people, and it could spend money from them on its will. One day, there was a forest fire on a mountain in Australia, where many koalas lived. Therefore, they were in danger, and we had to rescue them as soon as possible. Unfortunately, the fire spread over because the city government did not have helicopters that could be used to extinguish the fire. After that, the NPO decided to buy helicopters and gave them to the government. As a result, many koalas were rescued because the fire was extinguished. If people who donated chose how money was going to be used, the NPO could not buy helicopters and rescue animals.

In addition, we do not have to spend our time choosing how our money is going to be used. Choosing sometimes requires a lot of time, and thus it may make us frustrated. This point is exemplified by my own experience. Three days ago, I donated five million yen to an organization, and I had to choose how my money was going to be used. The organization engaged in a variety of supportive activities, and thus I read explanations of each activity to select. I spend about four hours selecting actions I donated to, and which made me feel frustrated. In contrast, I donated to another NPO yesterday. This NPO used its money based on its decision, and therefore I did not have to select activities that I donate to. Thanks to its system, the only thing I had to do was to write a number that I wanted to donate, which took only three minutes.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that an organization should use money based on its decision. This is because it can use the money to deal with emergency situations and we do not waste our time choosing.