Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? “People should keep trying to reach their goals, even if they seem impossible to achieve.” Use specific reasons and examples to explain your position.

There are a lot of people who support the idea that people should not continue trying to reach their dreams because it seems to be difficult to get. However, I personally disagree with the statement that people should not pursue their unrealistic goals. I have several reasons to support my view.

To begin with, keep trying to achieve the goals that require huge efforts can motivate you. Put differently, the process to reach their targets provides us with vital things for our daily lives. My own experience illustrates this view. When I was a high school student, I was a member of an engineering team. Our goal was to be a champion in the biological competition, but it was too difficult for us due to the lack of resources, equipment, and money. During my high school life, I and my teammates faced a host of obstacles and sometimes wanted to change our goals from the unrealistic one to the other that seemed easy to get, but we kept our dreams. In the final grade, we could get the only fourth grade on the competition, however, I could learn a lot of important things such as collaboration with the teammates and how to solve problems. Hence, if you can’t reach your goal in the end, you can gain critical experience through the process.

In addition to this, you can broaden your mind when you try to overcome difficulties. To more specific, when you try something that you are unfamiliar with, you can challenge a new topic. My sister, Haruko, is a good example of this. She is a professional soccer player now, but ten years ago she didn’t know about soccer at all. In the past, she watched a football game on TV by chance and decided to start to play soccer, even if she was not good at sports. At first, I and my parents didn’t believe that she could become a professional soccer player, but she kept training every day. Finally, she overcame the numerous troubles and was a champion in the regional soccer league, and got an offer from the professional team. If she had given up her dream, she couldn’t have had a chance to do sports as a way to earn money.

Considering the reasons I mentioned in the paragraphs above, it is my conclusion that people should keep trying to reach their targets, even if it is considered to be impossible to achieve.