Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

Smart phones are a powerful tools in today’s world. It can lead to several benefits for children and their studies and also in their well-being and safety. It has a few downsides and can be really dangerous in wrong hands, however overall a smart phone can be a magnific tool for young kids.

First of all, children are really vulnerable beings and parents must be aware of their location all the time. Smart phones have a GPS integrated on it, which allows parents to find the exactly location of the children when necessary. In addition to that, this GPS can also serve as a guide to children who are lost. Smart phones are set up with digital maps that can lead children to a certain destination avoiding children to get lost.

Moreover, smart phones are set up with apps that can improve children’s education and literacy. Nowadays, parents, children and educators have an extensive variety of mobile software that enables children to rapid gain more knowledge about certain subjects. Furthermore, it benefits kids who are having difficulties in certain areas, such as: math, chemistry, physics and biology, to name a few.

Smart phones are also able to perform basic functions, for instance: voice calls, video calls and recording audio and video. Recordings can be really useful for lectures and classes where the volume of work load is higher than usual. This videos or audios can be used later on for studying purposes or even to recapitulate some important facts mentioned in class.

In conclusion, smart phones can be an excellent children’s and parents ally if manage properly. Smart phones have children filters that can be switch on according to a specific age, so parents can have most of it without street out to much.