Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

Technology is changing the world. Task or analysis which were impossible to do in the past are now easily can be done using a smartphone. Every day, more and more applications are being developed to make our life better. Thus, surely, smart phones have changed our life the way we live! However, Like another, smartphone has its own pros and cons which I will discuss in my ensuing assay.

Some parents allow their young children to own a smart phone. Every parent is always concern about the safety of their children especially when they are young. Thus, having a smart phone can allow parent to keep in touch with their children. However, smart-phone are not necessary to keep in touch with the children. Parent can allow to use a regular cellphone (without internet option) to reach out to their kids when necessary.

Based on the recent study, it is found that smart phone has long term negative effect when not use in moderation. This is especially detrimental to the young children. Having an internet option, children can download any apps such as game, social networking app etc. Playing game on smart phone constantly can affect concentration of children which is detrimental for their study and upbringing. Networking with stranger on social networking app can also out the safety of children at risk. In addition, having an internet option, children can easily lean towards sexual activities even though they are not mature. And these are only few disadvantages where the list is long. This is reason why country such as France has banned the use of smartphone by children during school.

In conclusion, though smartphone has changed our life significantly, I believe it can cause more harm than benefit to children. Thus, I believe it is fair that some parents forbid young children from owning smart phone.