Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

Technology today is going faster than ever before. There are laptops, tv and smartphones everywhere. It does no matter if you are a grown man or woman, a teenager or a small child, most people can have access to these technologies without a problem. All of them serve greatly in communicating and being in touch. However, there are some parents who think smartphones should not be given to their children and forbid them, and I agree with their opinion.

I believe smartphones are a great tool for people to communicate, but I understand why some parents would not want to give their children a smartphone. First of all, having internet access might be problematic because it is distracting. If children are allowed to take their phones to school, they might not pay attention to classes if they are more entertained with what the WiFi has to offer. There are hardly any restrictions on what they can surf on the web, and it is not the teacher´s job to be confiscating phones.

Having a smartphone also means a kid or a teenager can have access to Facebook or Instagram or any kind of social media, and this can be known to cause severe cases of bullying at school. Anyone can pretend to be someone they are not or a single picture can give the wrong impression, which can cause more problems.

It also seems that people of all ages tend to ignore those who stand in front of them when having a smartphone. Social interactions are becoming less important in the face of technology. Children might begin to lose their social skills if they face it stuck 24/7 to a phone, a tv or a computer.

I do not disagree that smartphone functions well in keeping children and their parents in touch in case of an emergency, but a smartphone can cause more problems than solutions. Children can stay in touch with a simple cell phone, without internet access until they are of a certain age. I would propose that they are given a smartphone when they have become responsible people and know that there is a time for everything in life, similar to a rite of passage.