Some parents forbid young children from owning smartphones (cell phones with Internet access), while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch. Which point of view do you think is better, and why?

Cell phones and the internet has become a vital part of everyone's lives. But, I do not agree that young children should be allowed to use cell phones and the internet in excess. There are several issues related to the same, though it has its own good reasons for using the cell phones and internet, there are an equal number of negativities too.

Firstly, a child in such a young age should explore the nature, go out and play, read books and do something creative, which enhances their imagination and creativity. Similarly, if the kids are allowed to use the gadgets and internet, as we can see it happening in the modern era, lesser kids tend to play outside, do something creative or imaginative. The imagination of the younger generation is stunt as they involve themselves in the sources that don't help imaginations grow. They don't question about anything, but are satisfied with what they find.

Secondly, Cell phone and the internet causes several health problems at a young age, as that is the age, when there is tremendous growth in the physical and mental development of a child, gadgets drags the development in a negative way. Children are confined to their homes, sitting idle in front of the cell phone, playing games on it, which only leads to strain and stress, both to brain and eyes obesity among the kids are so common now, for the same reason.

Thirdly, Socializing is an important factor of life, indulgence in cell phones and the internet, deteriorates the gregariousness. It's when one is young, the vital basic qualities have to be inculcated. But, voracious use of these gadgets, lead to the decline in the social etiquettes, that they become socially apprehensive, and thus leading to gauche. There are several kids who are facing such problems, which has to be taken seriously.

I do agree that Cell phones and the internet have it's own benefits, I even agree to the fact that, kids using such gadget tend to be way ahead in understanding technology than the ones who are not using them. But after a certain age, both the categories of kids fall in the same level. It’s only for a short period of time that the technology savvies persists. I would like to conclude stating that, young children should not be allowed to use technology in excess that it affects them and their future. As it is said, "Excess of anything is poison". I believe that Young children should go out and explore the world and question everything around, and live their lives, rather than sit in front of cell phones and ruin their health and nature.