The real talent of a popular musician cannot accurately be assessed until the musician has been dead for several generations, so that his or her fame does not interfere with honest assessment.

A sound that soothes one's mind and the sound that sounds good when one listens, that is music. There are different types of music, and each one has its own unique properties. As the topic states, the real talent of a popular musician cannot be judged until the musician has been dead.

There are two faces of a coin and so is for this topic.

A musician gain popularity through his creations. The creations that impress the audience and inspire them, like an extremely famous music composer A. R Rahman. belongs to a poor family in South India. His Music gained his fame whole over the world. but does that state all the songs he composed were popular? Perhaps, they were not. There are still a few songs which were not appreciated by the audience. The Musicians fame did not interfere in judging his music.

Music as an art is inherited by humans since birth. It is a matter of fact, that 90% of humans enjoy and understand music. It is not necessary for one to go to music classes to get hold of the "Swaras" and "Talas" (As phrased in Carnatic music for notes and pitches).

On the other hand, there are fanatics who, no matter what, praise the musician without proper assessment. Which leads to the undeserved fame. Several budding musicians spend money or give away gifts toaudience to gain fame through dishonest means. But those tricks are ephemeral.

I would like to state that, true,sincere and quality works lives long even after the death of the musician, but not a fame made through undesirable means. Famous Indian Music composers of 20th century R. D Burman and Mohammad Rafi, are still cherished by the younger generations of the country for their varied and unique style of music, they are considered as the godfather of music in India.

By which I want to conclude, the real talent of a musician never dies even after his/her death, But that does not mean that it could only be honestly assessed after the death of the musician.