Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The impact of encouragement in various aspects of student’s life is increasingly considered by many in today’s era. Nowadays, parents recruit multiple strategies to motivate their children to obtain high scores in school. One of these strategies some parents use, is offering money for each supreme score they reach in their exam. Since some people having school-age children presume that money could be a superb incitement for children’s effort, they pledge they will give their children money if adolescents get high grades; While others might find action bizarre and presume that it has drawbacks. I concur with the question and am inclined to state that parents should not motivate their children by offering money. I cling to this viewpoint for a couple of reasons and will shed light upon them in the following.

Most importantly, allocation of money as award for children’s high score causes lack of their self-aplomb. The reason is that offering money to children, parents lead them to believe that that they are respectful and potent only if they reach high grade in exams. If students get low score, no longer they would get pleasure of themselves. An example of my own brings this fact home. My 10 years old nephew, Ali, uses to receive 30 dollars from his parents for each 20 score. All his attempt is getting 20. Once his parents found him depressed. As they consulted with a psychologist, they realized that whenever Ali gets deprived of award because of low score, he loses his self-confidence.

Furthermore, should some parents offer monetary motivation for their children, they would cause problem for other families who cannot afford supporting this financial motivational strategy for their children. As a result, the students who their parents are not wealthy enough to offer money as motivational mechanism to children, will not satisfied enough of their parents and they might stop making effort of studying hardly. Putting this in a more vivid picture, the story of my childhood years makes my reason clearer. When I was 9, my father used to charge my bank account for my high scores. As my friends realized this fact, they started forcing their parents to give them money. Due to the fact that fulfilling my friends’ request was not feasible for their parents, an heartbreaking argument happened in their families and the relationship between my friends and their parents became

Weakened. Overtime, my friends lost their motivation and couldn’t passed their other exams despite their brilliant performance before occurred issues.

In conclusion, bearing the illustrated points in my mind leads me to firmly believe that offering money not only cause lack of self-confidence for children but also disturbs the life of other students who their parents cannot afford giving them money as high score award.