Some parents offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school. Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Recently, there has been a ton of debate on whether parents should give school -age children money as a prize for getting high grade at school. Personally, I am of the opinion that children should not receive money just for their academic performance. I feel this way because of two reasons, which I will explore in this essay.

First of all, it is not necessary for parents to offer children money because of high marks, and it might have negative effects. Obviously, parents have provided funds for their children’s education, including tuition fee, textbooks and other devices required. Offering children money for high grade may encourage them to cheat for high scores, as they can earn extra pocket money. This is best demonstrated by research conducted by Peking university, results of which shows that compared to children not receiving prize, those who get money are two to three times likely to cheat in their exams. As we can see, offering children a prize has negatively impact on them.

Secondly, receiving prize for academic performance also encourages children drawing an inappropriate conclusion that they should get paid for any achievement that they have made in their life. It is common sense that as a student children should take their responsibility which is to do their best at school, and as a member of the society they should also fulfill certain obligations without being paid, while offering children money for high marks recedes their motivation of taking responsibility. Again, according to the study mentioned above, the percentage of children who have the urge to make a donation among those received money is much lower than the other group. This is demonstrates that it is better not to offer children money for high grades.

In conclusion, I am fully convinced that children should not get money from parents for academic performance. This is because there is no need to pay children money and because it encourages children to form the wrong value.