Some people believe that the Earth is being harmed (damaged) by human activity. Others feel that human activity makes the Earth a better place to live. What is your opinion? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The Earth, a place that our living depend on its health has been changed during last years by human activities. Some activities had positive impact and some of them damaged earth. There is different opinion among people about these impacts. Some think only about positive impacts while others are worry about negative impacts. In my opinion human activities have damaged Earth for two important reason especially during last decades.

The main reason is that global warming has become critical issue around the world in last decades. One of the particular human activities which has direct effect on environmental condition of Earth is fossil fuel consumption. As human uses this kind of fuel to produce energy, Carbon dioxide emits to the atmosphere as a byproduct and causes global warming. Based on a scientific article which I read recently, this pollutant is considered as the most important greenhouse gas which is produced by human. As mentioned in that article emission of CO2 has resulted increasing ambient temperature about two degrees centigrade during last two decades which has caused a lot of problems in the world such as destruction of plants and decreasing food production in some countries. As you can see, emission of greenhouse gasses as a result of human activities has damaged the Earth and has caused a lot of problems.

Another reason is that human uses minerals day by day and changes face of the Earth and also destroys habitat of some animals. These events can lead to various problems such as extinction of animals and new unknown diseases. A documentary that I watched recently is a compelling example of this. The documentary was about extinction of a particular piece of animal and health effect of this extinction on local people. The documentary showed that a new cement factory was constructed near a village which didn’t have suitable facilities to control air emission. As a result of emission of pollutants, residents of the village faced with an unknown disease which didn’t have direct relation with inhalation of pollutants. The disease reason was the extinction of particular instinct which had eliminated harmful bacteria from the atmosphere. As a result of extinction of that instinct amount of harmful bacteria was increased and led to an unknown disease. This documentary showed that human activities can have negative effects which can make earth worth place for living.

In conclusion, I believe that human activities damage the earth by emission of different kind of pollutants and also extinction of animals and plants. I strongly feel that we have to do a lot of control measures to save the earth.