Some people believe that when busy parents do not have a lot of time to spend with their children, the best use of that time is to have fun playing games or sports. Others believe that it is best to use that time doing things together that are related to schoolwork. Which of the two approaches do you prefer? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

People might be buried in deep thought when they initially see the statement that when busy parents do not have much time to spend with their children, whether the best use of that time should be spending on doing sports or games or something related to schoolwork. Some people argue as if it is the commonly accepted truth that parents should play games with their children, while others hold a different idea that it is better to do something related to schoolwork for parents. Frankly speaking, from my perspective, there are more demerits than merits to choose the second opinion. In this essay, I would like to take a closer look at the statement based on the following points.

The most immediate point is that playing games or sports do strengthen the relationships between parents and children. It is as clear as daylight that children are craving for playing with their parents because games and sports are interesting for most children. I can think of no better illustration than the example of my niece. She is 6 years old, and always asked her parents to play games with her, especially her favorite game--- The pink pig, which is a puzzle game. But her parents are too busy to play with her. As a result, she became introvert and does not want to talk to her parents. On children's day, her parents promised to play the game with her, and that made her day. Therefore, it is evident that parents should spend more time with their children to make them happy.

Another point worth mentioning is that playing sports games with children can reinforce skills of them such as teamwork spirit and collaboration. It is widely admitted that education is quite important for children. If parents do not have a lot of time instructing their children, that would be a problem. Therefore, the best of time is to make that up through playing sports with children. For instance, football is a sport which requires everyone to cooperate or it will never get succeed. Parents can teach their children how to play football well and instruct them the significance of working with others. I think that would be so helpful and meaningful for their children. Not only do they enjoy the game itself, but also learn how to grow. Don’t you think that the example quoted above is persuasive enough to demonstrate my point?

Further lending credence to my position is that games and sports can remind parents how to smile like children. It is crucially important that parents should make their children love them and have the willingness to spend time with them. Parents are always working so hard for the entire family. In most times, they seldom smile, which makes their children are a little scared of them. Therefore, games are the best solution. They can release their stresses and enjoy the time with their children.

Having weighed the points above, I have no choice but to reiterate my personal point of view that only spending time play games or sports with children can parents make friends with their children ; only by sharing more time with their children can parents know their kids better; only by playing sports with their children can parents instruct their children more efficiently.